mopagift.blogg.se

Bas florida jig fishing planet
Bas florida jig fishing planet





bas florida jig fishing planet

Mitch Looper, is a prostaff angler for PRADCO. While I’ve listened to a very exhaustive class with Randy Howell at Bass University on swimming a jig and saw what he did on Lake Dardanelle in some Elite 50 events, I’ve had the fortune of learning to swim a jig from Looper on the water.

bas florida jig fishing planet

But a few names like Randy Howell, Tom Monsoor and Mitch Looper stand out on the topic. There are a lot of great swim jig anglers that fish at the top level and probably every pro knows how to do it well. There were guys in Alabama, Wisconsin, Arkansas and more using this technique 20 years ago and the fact that nothing was written about it back then, makes me believe several guys discovered it by not writing it off as a fluke. I think simultaneously several guys were figuring it out and making jigs specifically designed for this technique to get better hook ups. Several folks have laid claim to creating the swim jig or the swim jig technique. The Historyįast forward 25 years, and swimming a jig is a prominent pattern in fishing from coast to coast, from Wisconsin to Louisiana. Yes I caught a lot of fish swimming a jig. Yep I was out matched and didn’t know any better. But more importantly I was keyed into the swimming effectiveness of a jig.īack then I was using a 6 foot rod, 10-pound mono and an Arkie jig. That’s because I saw the boil and jerked like a mad man. Then reeled the jig up quickly through the reeds again and another fish swirled and missed the jig this time. The next cast, I pitched my jig into the hole. It was one of the most violent strikes I’d ever had up to that point in my fishing. A 4-pounder violently struck the jig and hooked itself before I could even lean into it. I saw a hole up ahead in the grass, so I reeled a jig quickly through the willows, banging stalks as the jig came through to make that next cast. We were fishing on Lake Dardanelle, a lake off the Arkansas River in Russellville, Ark., and I was pitching a jig into bank grass, pencil reeds or water willows as many folks call them. I learned to swim a jig back in the late 80s, and for whatever reason, I bucked the normal tendency to write a happenstance occurrence off as a fluke. We’ll dispense with the bass psychology for now.







Bas florida jig fishing planet